Symposium on Environmental Engineering – Shaping a green era

The symposium on Environmental Engineering, held in the scope of the 5th Doctoral Congress in Engineering (DCE23), will be hosted at FEUP, Porto, Portugal, on the 15th and 16th of June, 2023.

This Symposium is organized by PhD students of the Doctoral Program in Environmental Engineering (PDEA) at FEUP, with the support of the Associate Laboratory ALiCE (integrating the R&D Units LEPABE, LSRE-LCM and CEFT) and CERENA.

The Symposium Organizing Committee is pleased to invite everyone who wants to extend and share their knowledge and their practice in the Environmental area to submit their work, including PhD and MSc students, and other researchers in this field.


 Topics for submission include (but are not limited to):

  • Water and Waste Management: towards new approaches
  • Clean Air and Energy: becoming accessible for all
  • Sustainability and Innovation: seeking a new future



||  Extended Deadline: 23rd April ||

Format: oral or poster communications.

The abstract should follow the template (with a maximum of 3 pages), according to the Instruction for authors under the Submission page. The submission must be done throughout CMT platform (

For more information, please click HERE.


Registration (payment)

Registration is mandatory for all participants.

The Doctoral Program in Environmental Engineering (PDEA) will support the registration costs of any student of the PDEA from FEUP.

A limited number of registrations will be also awarded to other students or researchers, depending on the number of attendees. For any questions, please contact:

The abstracts will appear in the Book of Abstracts only if at least one author of each accepted abstract is registered in the event, with a paid fee awarded by the Symposium Organizing Committee.

Please note that at least one author of each submitted abstract (oral or poster communication) must register in the Congress as soon as possible.

To register, please fill out the Registration Form by clicking HERE. For more information you can check the Registration section.


Program (download here)



Oral presentations will be of 15 minutes including discussion (12 min presentation + 3 min discussion). You should prepare a PowerPoint presentation to support your communication. No template is provided but slides with a 16:9 aspect ratio size are recommended. Oral Communications (and slides) must be presented in English.

The poster session for the Symposium on Environmental Engineering is scheduled for the second DCE23 day – Friday, June 16 (13:00 – 14:30 GMT+1), at FEUP’s B Corridor. Prepare your poster in portrait mode, size A0 (1189 mm height x 841 mm wide). Posters must be written in English. You can find an editable template HERE.

At least one of the authors is required to attend the symposium to present the abstract in an oral/poster communication.



All accepted abstracts, with at least one author registered in the Congress with a paid fee awarded by the Symposium Organizing Committee, will be included in the event’s program and in the Symposium Book of Abstracts.

Authors of accepted abstracts will be encouraged to submit a full manuscript (to be published as research or review article) to a special issue of the U. Porto Journal of Engineering (

|| Download the Book of Abstracts here ||



Authors of accepted and revised abstracts, presented at the Congress, will be eligible for the best oral and poster communication award.


Symposium Committees

Symposium Chairs

  • Adrián Silva, FEUP
  • Sofia Sousa, FEUP

Symposium Organizing Committee

  • Adrián Silva, FEUP
  • Arminda Alves, FEUP
  • Sofia Sousa, FEUP
  • Ana Silva, PhD student PDEA
  • Filipe Moisés, PhD student PDEA
  • Filipe Rocha, PhD student PDEA
  • Inês Rodrigues, PhD student PDEA
  • Isabella Tomasi, PhD student PDEA
  • Juliana Sá, PhD student PDEA
  • Miguel Costa, PhD student PDEA
  • Sara Pardilhó, PhD graduate

Symposium Scientific Committee

  • Adrián Silva, FEUP
  • Arminda Alves, FEUP
  • Cidália Botelho, FEUP
  • Cristina Vila, FEUP
  • Francisco Taveira Pinto, FEUP
  • Joana Dias, FEUP
  • Maria de Lurdes Dinis, FEUP
  • Rita Lado, FEUP
  • Sofia Sousa, FEUP
  • Tânia Lopes, FEUP
  • Vera Homem, FEUP
  • Vítor Vilar, FEUP