The symposium of “Electrical and Computer Engineering” will be held in the scope of the 5th Doctoral Congress  Engineering (DCE23) which will be hosted at FEUP, Porto, Portugal on the 15th and 16th of June 2023.



The Symposium on Electrical and Computer Engineering accepts submissions on all the topics of the broad field of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

If you have any doubt whether your abstract fits the scope of the Symposium, please send an email to with the subject starting with “DCE23:”.


Keynote speech:

The Elephants in the Room: Hardware in AI

Luis Sarmento – Inductiva Research Labs


Panel 1: Women in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Ana Filipa Sequeira (INESC TEC)

Paula Rocha Malonek (FEUP)

Teresa Andrade (FEUP)

Teresa Ponce Leão (LNEG)


Panel 2: Artificial Intelligence in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Jaime Cardoso  (FEUP)

Luís Paulo Reis  (FEUP)

Ricardo Bessa  (INESCTEC)

Vítor Grade Tavares  (FEUP)



“Introduction to Git: Mastering Version Control”  by Diogo Cordeiro

“Spiking Neural Networks: Fundamentals and Applications” by João Nunes



  • Deadline for abstracts submission: March 30th April 24th
  • Notification of abstracts acceptance: May 12th
  • Deadline for early bird registration: May 16th
  • Deadline for camera-ready version of the Abstracts: June 5th
  • Congress: June 15th and 16th

Please check the “Submission” page.

Use one of the templates available (LaTeX, DOTX, DOCX, RTF).

The Symposium on Electrical and Computer Engineering will accept submissions of long abstracts. All the accepted submissions will be eligible for Poster Presentation and high-quality submissions will be selected for Oral Communication.

Call for Abstracts


Registration (Payment):

Registration is mandatory for all participants.

At least one author of each accepted and revised abstract must be registered in the event, with a paid fee, for the abstracts to appear in the Booklet, in the Book of Abstracts, and in the Proceedings.

Please check the “Registration” page and follow the guidelines.



At least one of the authors is required to attend the Symposium to present the abstract.

Please check the “Symposia” page and follow the guidelines

Download the program here



Download the Book of Abstracts here



Authors of accepted and revised abstracts, presented at the Congress, will be eligible for the following:

  • “Best Paper Award”
  • “Best Paper Presentation Award”


Symposium Organising Committee:

  • Luis Miguel Pinho de Almeida
  • José Nuno Moura Marques Fidalgo
  • Gowhar Javanmardi
  • Tiago Filipe Sousa Gonçalves

Symposium Scientific Committee:

  • Luis Miguel Pinho de Almeida
  • Ana Cristina Costa Aguiar
  • João Paulo Trigueiros da Silva Cunha
  • João Tasso de Figueiredo Borges de Sousa
  • José Nuno Moura Marques Fidalgo

Technical Program Committee:

  • Abdulhakeem Temitope Abdulrahman
  • Bruno Filipe Oliveira Correia
  • Gowhar Javanmardi
  • Gustavo Araujo de Andrade
  • Hassan Safdary
  • Joana Vale Amaro de Sousa
  • João Diogo Fernandes Freitas Nunes
  • José Nuno Moura Marques Fidalgo
  • Leonardo Gomes Capozzi
  • Luis Miguel Pinho de Almeida
  • Paula Alexandra Agra Graça
  • Piedy Del Mar Agamez Arias
  • Radha Krishna Reddy Pallavali
  • Sandro Augusto Costa Magalhães
  • Thadeu Vinícius de Brito Pupato
  • Tiago Filipe Sousa Gonçalves


Contact: We can be contacted by email using Use a subject starting with “DCE23:”